Call 845 534 7800
Bannerman Island - Photo by Frank Ostrander

2016 Constellation Tours

June -
Friday, June 10 - 7:45pm
Saturday, June 11 - 7:45pm
Friday, June 17 - 7:45pm
Saturday, June 18 - 7:45pm
Friday, June 24 - 7:45pm
Saturday, June 25 - 7:45pm

July -
Friday, July 1 - 7:45pm
Saturday, July 2 - 7:45pm
Friday, July 8 - 7:45pm
Saturday, July 9 - 7:45pm
Friday, July 15 - 7:45pm
Saturday, July 16 - 7:45pm
Friday, July 22 - 7:30pm
Saturday, July 23 - 7:30pm
Friday, July 29 - 7:30pm
Saturday, July 30 - 7:30pm

August -
Friday, August 5 - 7:15pm
Saturday, August 6 - 7:15pm
Friday, August 12 - 7:15pm
Saturday, August 13 - 7:15pm
Friday, August 19 - 7:15pm
Saturday, August 20 - 7:00pm
Friday, August 26 - 7:00pm
Saturday, August 27 - 6:45pm

September -
Friday, September 2 - 6:45pm
Saturday, September 3 - 6:45pm
Friday, September 9 - 6:30pm
Saturday, September 10 - 6:30pm
Saturday, September 17 - 6:15pm
Friday, September 23 - 6:15pm
Saturday, September 24 - 6:00pm

Constellation Kayak Tours

We will begin our journey from the Cornwall-on-Hudson landing, kayaking across the Hudson River to Bannerman’s Island. As the sun sets, your guides will give you a brief history of the castle and an introduction to the CONSTELLATION project as you paddle around the island taking in the views. Once the sun is below the horizon, we will watch this artwork come to life.

A large-scale sculptural installation, CONSTELLATION, by artist Melissa McGill, brings together light and form and connects history to the present day. A series of poles are installed on Bannerman’s Island at heights ranging from 40 to 80 feet tall with small solar powered LED lights installed on the top of each pole, giving the appearance of stars floating independently in the night sky. Every evening, as the sun goes down, the starry lights emerge one by one with the stars of the night sky. Hovering around the perimeter of the castle ruin, these lighted points refer to features of the structure still standing, as well as those details which no longer exist—creating a new constellation.

Storm King Adventure Tours is proud to be the official CONSTELLATION by Melissa McGill Kayaking Company. The best way to experience this unique public art installation is by kayak. There will only be 16 spots available per tour on selected Friday and Saturday nights this season. Private mid-week tours of 8 or more people are available upon request. Price is $100 per person for this 2-3 hour experience.

To make a reservation, call Storm King Adventure Tours at (845) 534-7800.

For more on this project, visit the project's website Melissa McGill Constellation

Consteallation photo of Bannerman's Island

Consteallation photo of Bannerman's Island